Quote

Whoa.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Whoa!.”

What’s the most surreal experience you’ve ever had?

Surreal”. Adjective.
having the qualities of surrealism; bizarre.
“a surreal mix of fact and fantasy”

So what is the bizarre experience I’ve ever had? I’ve had plenty of bizarre dreams alright (a side effect of my love of cheese). But as for actual strange or unusual experiences, I’m not sure. What I’d call strange, others call normal.

I could say that these last two years of my life in college have been a surreal experience in itself. College is a strange and wonderful place where I’ve met so many new people and gotten so many opportunities. In 2015 alone, college gave me the chance to enter a short film competition (which I entered with a friend of mine, and we won a GoPro camera), and an opportunity to work with a real production company for actual industry experience. It’s bizarre to think how much you can change in 2 years and yet, I’m a very different person to who I was when I left secondary school. Living away from home and spending most of my time with completely different people has been very surreal. I still find it hard to believe that in two years, I’ll be graduating and out into the real world. I’m waiting for the day when I wake up and find myself back in 4th or 5th year, because I wasn’t sure if I was going to get here.

Graduation. Like, that’s a bizarre notion. To think that I might actually be out of here in 2 years with a proper degree and I’ll be expected to throw myself into the film industry is exciting and terrifying and so, so weird. I’m only 19, still basically a kid, and I’m going to be out there…all alone. That’s all kinds of weird. Writing this blog post and having sudden realisations about my future, yeah that could be one of the most surreal experiences I’ve ever had. I’m not ready for the real world! I can hardly imagine my friends and I being out there, working on radio and running production companies and working the cameras and winning Oscars… at least not for 4 or 5 years. It feels like we’ve only just begun and it’s already half over. Is that not terrifying? Then again, I’m not sure I’ll ever be really ready for leaving this place behind. But it’s important to remember that even if you aren’t ready, you can still do it. Yesterday we had society award nomination interviews, and I was extremely nervous. Didn’t want to go in. Knew I wasn’t ready. But I went in, and I think we had a pretty great interview. It just shows that people can do so much more than they think they can do. Even if you aren’t ready, we’ll still go out and give it socks. Fake it until you make it!!

Until next time,

Ciara x

One thought on “Whoa.

Leave a Reply

