One Hundred Memories or More

Daily Prompt: A Moment In Time

Anyone who knows me in real life (or is friends with me on Facebook) will know that over the last few years, I have taken a few photos. And by a few, I mean I generally take more photos on a night out than many people take in a year. There is actually no exaggeration there.

I absolutely adore photos. I love them because they capture a moment where somebody thought, you know what, I’d like to be able to relive this. When I came to college, I finally started the photo wall that I’d been jabbering about making constantly for about 3 years previously, and it’s my favourite part about my room. I love printing out the photos and adding to my wall, so that on the days when I’m feeling down about myself, or feeling like the college work is too much, I can look up at all of these photos and remember that for the most part, the sadness only lasts for a short while. Things can and will get better if you will them to. Every single photo on my wall brings back hundreds of memories, of the party I went to with my friends, of the gigs, the weddings, the banter in college, the trips away and in general, all the times spent with my friends. I wake up in the morning, and all I have to do is look at my wall to see myself smiling back at me with my friends. A picture is something so small and insignificant to some people, and at the time they may not seem that important, but looking backĀ on old photos is one of my favourite things to do.

I’m of the opinion that some of the best photos are the candid ones: the ones where people are laughing away to themselves, not realising the camera is there, because it’s more natural. Sure, the posed ones are great (and yes, ok, we probably look better in them) but my favourite photos are the ones taken after somebody has told a joke to a group and there’s a few people laughing, one rolling their eyes, somebody desperately trying to hold in the laughter and one guy is standing there, half laughing and half still trying to understand the joke. I love selfies too, especially on iPhones and iPods, because you can just keep clicking the button and end up with 400 photos within a minute. About 10 will be nice, 50 will be alright, and the other 340 will be a horrific but hilarious combination of awkward pouts, blinking, talking, laughing and general awful faces.But they always provide a laugh and at the end of the day, if you’ve spent most of your day laughing then you can’t be doing too badly!

Today’s daily prompt was to speak about a picture you’ve taken recently, but I’m blogging this from bed while looking at my photo wall and I was inspired.

Until next time (probably like a year),

Ciara x

Leave a Reply

