Autumn Is Upon Us!

Today’s Daily Prompt is all about autumn. While the season technically began back in August, I never think of autumn truly beginning until September – I’ve been back in college for a full week, my birthday is next week and people are already beginning to discuss plans for Halloween and the October mid-term break. Yes, in my mind, autumn is finally upon us.

I love this season. It’s without a doubt my favourite, because while I adore the sunshine and sunbathing and chilling at the beach, I also love being able to wear boots and woolly jumpers instead of t-shirts and shorts, and lighting the fire instead of wishing for air-conditioning. There’s always just been something about this season. The temperatures are dropping, and suddenly you’ve got a ready-made excuse to curl up in front of the fire and watch the latest episode of your newly returned TV show. Woolly jumpers and super cosy cardigans are once again acceptable and falling asleep to the sound of rain outside is almost a guarantee. The shorts and string tops are packed into the attic for next summer and the hats, scarves, gloves and various umbrellas have to be rooted out of whatever hiding place you threw them into last May when the weather got really good. (Admittedly, for a good portion of May, June and even a bit of July, I remained sceptical about the weather and carried an umbrella with me. Only in Ireland would this be completely normal).

Autumn marks the second half of the year, and for me, once autumn arrives, the year is practically over. September through December always passes by in a blur, and by the time Christmas rolls around I’m left wondering why I still think my birthday was yesterday. The reality of life which somewhat faded over the summer is back in full swing, with a return to routines and rules and assignments – but also a return to friends I haven’t seen in a few months, a return to the radio studio, and a return to Kerry. Familiarity. I always found autumn to be the season of comfort and familiarity – it rarely changes from year to year and I always find the college routine to be a welcome comfort after the craziness and unpredictability of the summer – everything from the events to the weather was unpredictable this year!

Here’s to two more glorious months of the autumn season. This year, I am determined to find a tree which sheds millions of leaves, because at 18 (almost 19) years of age, I have yet to jump in a humongous pile of leaves. This is my goal for this season!

Until next time,

Ciara.

Leave a Reply

